Who Are We?

The Southern Shrimp Alliance (SSA) is an organization of shrimp fishermen, shrimp processors, and other members of the domestic industry in the eight warmwater shrimp producing states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Texas.

Purpose

Founded in 2002, the SSA works to ensure the continued vitality and existence of the U.S. shrimp industry.  The livelihoods of U.S. shrimpers are threatened by cheap, unfairly traded imported shrimp.  The U.S market has become a dumping ground for shrimp that are turned away from other major seafood importing countries.  Proposed restrictions on shrimp fishing and rapidly increasing costs of doing business also loom over the industry.   The SSA is committed to preserving the long term viability of one of our nation’s most valuable fisheries, which for decades has been a foundation of the economy and social structure of countless coastal communities throughout the Gulf and Southeast regions.

Governance

The SSA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.  The Board is composed of two elected representatives from each of the eight member-states, two Vietnamese Representatives, and two Business Committee representatives.

The Board sets policy and financial goals through majority rule decision making.  The SSA has a small staff to implement Board decisions.  It employs a full-time Executive Director and Executive Assistant.

Finances

The SSA’s accomplishments have required the services of a variety of individuals with expertise in areas such as fisheries biology, economics, and law.  In addition, the organization has made contributions to state programs that benefit the U.S. shrimp industry, such as state marketing programs. The SSA has funded these efforts without federal appropriations.

The SSA’s budget is comprised of membership funds and other contributions to the organization.

As a 501(c)(6) trade association, the SSA files annual Forms 990 which are available for public review.

Board of Directors

Florida

Sal Versaggi
sal@versaggi-shrimp.com

Chris Gala
Tricocg@aol.com

Georgia

John Wallace
gwallace@darientel.net

Mike Dubberly
DaddysBoy1775@aol.com

Alabama

Steve Johnson
baptizodiving@aol.com

Mississippi

Steve Bosarge
stevebosarge@hotmail.com

Frank Parker
fparker259@bellsouth.net

Louisiana

Angela Portier
angelaportier@charter.net

Robert Nguyen
prxn1956@yahoo.com

Texas

Harley Londrie
hdltgt@aol.com

Craig Wallis
wallis.shrimp@yahoo.com

North Carolina

Nancy Edens
nancymedens@gmail.com

Brent Fulcher
bjseafood@earthlink.net

South Carolina

Frank Blum
scarolinaseafood@gmail.com

Craig Reaves
seaeaglemarket@live.com

Vietnamese-American Representatives

Crystal Truong
crystaltruong4@yahoo.com

Business Committee

Michael Stephens
mstephens@bamasea.com

Jonathan Appelbaum
jonathan@penguinfrozenfoods.com

Executive Director

John Williams
john@shrimpalliance.com

Executive Assistant

Rachel Williams
rachel@shrimpalliance.com

Our First Decade

Discover more about our initial decade, including our Hurricane Katrina Response, Legislative endeavors, and more!